Students celebrate Opening Mass at Marian College

The 2014 Marian College school captains Jack Boatman and Ashley Arnfield.
The 2014 Marian College school captains Jack Boatman and Ashley Arnfield.

ARARAT - Staff, students, parents and friends of Marian College gathered in the new gymnasium to celebrate the commencement of the academic year with an Opening Mass.

Mass was officiated at by Bishop Paul Bird, Father Brendan Davey from Ararat and Father Eric Bryant from Stawell.

Marian College welcomed almost 600 students from year seven to 12 in 2014.

During Mass the school also welcomed new staff members and students and presented many students with scholarships and awards which were generously donated and supported by the local community.

Marian College was fortunate to have Wayne Gason from Gasons Pty Ltd, Geoff Penna from Hansen Print, Cr Fay Hull from Ararat Rural City Council and Superintendent Graeme Kent who is the national president of YMCA Australia personally presenting the awards and making speeches.

Principal John Crowley said he looked forward to strengthening bonds within the college community with the newly restructured student leadership model which sought and encouraged great student leadership in the areas of environment, liturgy, justice and democracy group, peer leadership as well as the Minnie Vinnies group.

"A strong student leadership group has been elected to lead our new House system in 2014," Mr Crowley said.

"With engaging new teaching and learning methods within the curriculum, the opening of our new Trade Training Centre as well as the development of a large Applied Learning Centre, Marian College is a very exciting place to learn in 2014 and beyond."

2013 Dux of Marian College awarded to: Maddalena Linton; 2013 Australian Catholic University Scholarship awarded to: Jodan Leliveld; Australian Defence Force Leadership and Teamwork Awards awarded to: Amy Dempsey; 2013 Ballarat University Scholarship Dux of Year 10 awarded to: Matthew Bullen; 2013 Marian College Scholarship Dux of Year 10 awarded to: Amy Dempsey; 2013 Ararat Rural City Student Award awarded to: Emma Rusden; 2013 Rotary Club of Ararat Scholarship awarded to: Adelaide Wright; 2013 Lions Club Scholarships awarded to: Luke McInnes and Lalarni Devonshire; 2013 Lions Club of Stawell awarded to: Rebecca Gilbert; 2013 Central Grampians LLEN awarded to: Nathaniel Blake; 2013 Ararat Community Enterprise Award awarded to: Fraser Heard; 2013 Ararat Charitable Trust Award awarded to: Alyssa Heard and Chelsea Joyce; 2013 Gason Scholarship awarded to: Matthew Harrington; 2013 YMCA Award awarded to Eloise Tapscott and Corey Wilkinson; 2013 Northern Grampians Shire Award awarded to Rory Jones; 2013 Art/Graphics Award Sponsored by Hansen Print awarded to: Nicola Hillier.


Discuss "Students celebrate Opening Mass at Marian College"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.