Vocational Pathways awards presented in Ararat

REGION - Thirty-two local students and sixteen local employers were celebrated at the Vocational Pathways Awards ceremony held at Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre.

Claire receives her award from Ararat Rural City Mayor Cr Ian Wilson.

Claire receives her award from Ararat Rural City Mayor Cr Ian Wilson.

The event was also a celebration of 10 years of the work and achievements of the Central Grampians Local Learning and Employment Network.

An audience of 100 guests were welcomed to the event hosted by the Central Grampians LLEN and the Workplace Learning Co-ordination Program.

The Vocational Pathways award recognise contributions made by local businesses and students to VET, work experience, structured workplace learning, school based apprenticeships and other workplace focused programs.

The awarded students and employers were nominated by local schools and agencies for their commitment and dedication to vocational learning, and were presented by Ararat Rural City Council Mayor, Cr Ian Wilson.

The students represented Ararat College, Marian College, Stawell Secondary College and Lake Bolac College. The evening was a celebration of vocational education, workplace learning and the positive things young people can achieve with a supported early entry into the workforce.

The awards recipients in the Employer category were: Ruthven Steel, Halls Gap Zoo, Eastick Homes, Robert Maconachie Electrical, Alan Burns Signs, Three Troupers Cafe, Embroidability, The Haircutters Workshop, Graeme McKay Earthmoving, A F Gason Pty Ltd, East Grampians Health Service, SAS Truck Services, Josh Cunningham, Fishers IGA Ararat, TK Auto Electrics, AME Systems.

The award recipients in the student category were: Jessica Alexander - SBA Hospitality, Tom Sutton - SBA Engineering, Letesha Stephens, Claire Jennings, Amy Gunnell, Paige Watts - work experience, Brady Holcombe, Steven Vong, Corey Bell, Aaron Neil - VET Building and Construction, Brody Taylor, Cassidy Capstick, Jack Nicholson, Jack Robertson, Meg Dunn - VET Hospitality - Kitchen Operations, Alex Close, Lachlan Bond, Lachlan Slorach - VET Engineering, William House - VET Automotive, Jarrod Potter, Mitchell Cronin, Nelson Turner, Zachary Leckie, Daniel Evans - Structured Workplace Learning, Kevin Barnes Koster - VET Information Technology, Courtney Morrow, VET Hairdressing, Danielle Ferguson, Lorena McIntosh, Sarah Poore, Alexandra Clugston, Emma Dwyer, Rikki Ekman, VET Community Services.


Discuss "Vocational Pathways awards presented in Ararat"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.