Murray-Darling deal finally done as NSW, Queensland sign up

The last two hold-out states, NSW and Queensland, have agreed to implement the Murray-Darling Basin Plan more than a year after the federal government signed it into law.

The agreement marks the culmination of more than six years of at times fractious debate since the Howard government first proposed a national water plan.

A commitment by the federal government to cap water buy-backs at 1500 gigalitres and increase funding for water infrastructure programs was crucial in getting NSW and Queensland to agree to implement the $13 billion plan.

Victoria, South Australia and the Australian Capital Territory have also signed an amended National Partnership Agreement – bringing all the states on board for the first time.

Local Business

Queensland signed the agreement on Wednesday night while NSW Premier Barry O'Farrell flew to Canberra on Thursday to formally sign a deal with Prime Minister Tony Abbott.

“This is a historic reform that delivers a positive outcome for NSW, as well as the broader national interest,” Mr O'Farrell said after meeting Mr Abbott.

In signing the agreement, the NSW government relented on a previous demand that the Commonwealth agree to a 3 per cent cap on irrigation entitlements buybacks

Under the deal, NSW will receive $32.5 million, Victoria $25 million, South Australia $15 million and Queensland $15 million from the Regional Economic Diversification Program.

In 2010, angry farmers in Griffith burned copies of the Murray-Darling Basin draft plan, claiming it would destroy local communities.

Follow us on Twitter

The story Murray-Darling deal finally done as NSW, Queensland sign up first appeared on The Sydney Morning Herald.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide