James Keys wins under 16 best and fairest award

MDFL - Wickliffe/Lake Bolac under sixteen footballer James Keys went one better than last year's runner-up trophy by taking home the 2012 JJ Box Medal at the Mininera and District Football League best and fairest vote count on Monday night.

Keys was a clear winner, collecting the maximum votes on seven occasions throughout the season to finish on 28, while Hawkesdale/Macarthur duo Lachlan Glare and James Gow tied for second on 22.

Rounding out the top five was Tatyoon's Richard Joyce (20), along with last year's winner Tom Taurau (19) from Ararat Eagles and Sam Wells (19) from Moyston/Willaura.

In the reserves, former WJ Lewis Medal winner Neil Kelly from Woorndoo/Mortlake topped the league with 30 votes to claim the DJ Martin medal.

Despite the Tigers winning just five games for the season, Kelly was a shinning light, with the main highlights coming from rounds five to eight where the midfielder scored the maximum three votes in each match.

Ararat Eagles utility Luke Foster made a late charge for the lead, polling in 10 of the last 12 rounds, to finish three short on 27.

In other awards announced on the night, Ararat Eagles onballer Jamie Elder took out the Pauls Dairy winner with 18 votes, with Leo Bell from Moyston/Willaura runner up on 16.

Votes for the award are given by the time keepers at each match.

The Blue Ribbon Spirit of Football awards were presented by former Richmond premiership player Emmett Dunne and Blue Ribbon Foundation member Terry Weeks.

James Keys capped off a good night by receiving the under-16 player of the year, while Wickliffe/Lake Bolac's Pat Millear was the umpire of the year.

Sean McDougall rounded out the Blue Ribbon awards by winning the under-16 coach of the year.

Leading goal kicker trophies were also award to Tatyoon's Aidan Bell for topping the seniors tally with 96 majors in the home and away season.

Adam Griffen from SM&W Rovers won the reserves award with 94 goals.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide