Local bowlers take out pairs tournament

ARARAT - Two local bowlers have taken out this year's Bendigo Bank Ararat Open Setsplay Classic Pairs tournament.

In a dominant display in the grand final at the Ararat Bowls Club, Chalambar Bowls Club's Tony Carra and Chris Young defeated Kyneton's Allan Mathison and John Smith in straight sets, 8-2, 3-2.

In an exhibition of precision draw bowling combined with powerhouse driving from Carra, the Chalambar combination added the 2012 title to their already impressive resumes, having previously won the same tournament in 2010.

Carra and Young had to overcome another Mathison in the semi final, when they faced Anthony Mathison and his partner Ken Telford.

The Chalambar champions were pushed by their out of town opponents before prevailing in a hard fought contest 4-3, 4-2.

In the other side of the draw, Mathison and Smith played a marathon match against the 2011 winner, Clayton Holcombe from Ararat VRI Bowls Club, who had Chalambar's Hans Holtz as his playing partner.

Mathison and Smith dropped the first set before coming from behind to eventually claim victory 1-5, 6-5, 6-1.

In accepting the winners' trophies and prize money, Carra congratulated the Ararat Bowls Club on running the tournament, paid special thanks to the Bendigo Bank for being such a strong sponsor of local events and acknowledged all the teams who had participated in the 2012 event.


Round of 16

C Holcombe def J Veale 3-2, 6-3; D Flintoft def W Saunders 6-2, 2-3, 3-2; Br Tory def S Wereszcuk 4-3, 0-4, 7-4; T Carra def W Waterston 5-3, 2-3, 5-3; I Reichelt def R Frka 4-1, 4-5, 7-2; D Bateman, bye; Al Mathison, bye; An Mathison, bye.

Quarter finals

C Holcombe def D Bateman 5-2, 4-2; Al Mathison def D Flintoft 4-1, 3-5, 3-2; An Mathison def Br Tory 1-5, 6-1, 3-2; T Carra def I Reichelt 2-3, 4-2, 3-2.

Semi finals

Al Mathison def C Holcombe 1-5, 6-5, 6-1; T Carra def An Mathison 4-3, 4-2.

Grand final

T Carra def Al Mathison 8-2, 3-2.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide