Awards celebrate workplace learning

REGION - Twenty-six students from the region and seventeen employers were celebrated at the Vocational Pathways Awards ceremony held at Gum San Chinese Heritage Centre.

The event was hosted by the Central Grampians LLEN and the Workplace Learning Co-ordination Program.

The Vocational Pathways award recognise contributions made by local businesses and students to Vocational Education and Training (VET), work experience, Structured Workplace Learning, School Based Apprenticeships (SBA) and other workplace focused programs. These programs set the students on a path to future employment and demonstrate their readiness for employment.

The awarded students and employers were nominated by schools form the region and agencies for their commitment and dedication to Vocational learning.

Central Grampians VET Cluster co-ordinator, Andrew Sherwell and Ararat Rural City representative, Brady Curran presented the awards.

The students represented Ararat College, Marian College and Stawell Secondary College. The evening was a celebration of the positive things young people can achieve with a supported early entry into the workforce.

The awards recipients in the employer category were: Rebecca Leeke, Early Years Learning Centre Stawell, Eastick Homes, Stawell Engineering, Man About the House, Three Troopers Pantry, Mark Rudolph, Skene Street School, St Andrews Kindergarten, Tony Rickard Plumbing, Embroidability, Reece Plumbing Ararat, TK Auto Electrex, Russell Price Building, Adam Klemm Plumbing, Chris Barwick, AF Gason Pty Ltd.

The award recipients in the student category were: Jessica Alexander - SBA Hospitality, Alex Close - SBA Automotive Electrical, Rowen Burkhalter - VET Engineering and Building and Consruction, Jesse Bennett - VET/ SBA Building and Construction, Dylan Barber, Ben McKenzie, Sam Bohner, Matthew Sutton, Ned Hutchison, Brendon Zammitt - VET Building and Construction, Alana Jenkins, Alanna Woods, Rachel Billett, Meg Dunn - VET Hospitality - Kitchen Operations, Jaymen McNaughton - SBA Engineering, Liam Scott, Mark Phillips - SBA Building and Construction, Adam Barrie - SBA Transport and Logistics, William Kolak - SBA Automotive, Ryan Folkes - Structured Workplace Learning, Emma Dwyer, Rikki Ekman, Hayley O'Niel, Ashlee Swadling, Iesha Whyte, Brooke Caruana - VET Children's Services.

More pictures from the awards night at the Gum San Chinese Heritage Cente are featured on Page 14 in today's edition of The Ararat Advertiser.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide